top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace V. Alcaraz

ARE FREELANCING (VIRTUAL ASSISTANCE) COURSES WORTH IT?

Updated: Mar 14, 2021



WHO AM I?

First, let me tell you something about myself. I have been a Banker for 25 years now. I started as a New Accounts clerk on my first job, and worked my way up from the ranks. I learned a lot in the years that I have been in the Industry, and, I am happy with the people that I meet and work with because I love to interact with different kinds of people, and, get to know a bit about them.


WHY DID I ENROLL IN THE FREELANCING COURSE?

Having a full time job entails sacrifices. Most of the time you have to go on overtime or even work on weekends, leaving you with no time for your family, and, for yourself. As I grew older, I realized that no matter how much I achieve career wise, nothing is more important than my family and the time that I spend with them. It is a cliché, but life is indeed too short, so we must enjoy it as much as we can. Hence, I want to try freelancing.


HOW DID THE FREELANCING COURSE HELP ME?

Back in 2018, I resigned from my job to give myself time for my family. I also felt that the stress from my work was affecting my health. I tried to do freelancing on my own without taking any courses. Thus, my Upwork and Onlinejobs.ph profiles were never approved. I didn’t know where to start. Until, a friend of mine told me about the freelancing course and Coach Kathy, and how it helped her. Today, I am once again employed in the Banking Industry, but I do need extra income and a backup plan, especially during these uncertain times. Who knows? I might eventually do freelancing full time and quit my day job.


At first, I really didn’t know how to get started with my portfolios. Even after watching the first video lesson, I was stuck, given that everything is new to me. After a few inquiries from Coach Kathy, and once I tried doing the first portfolio, I slowly learned what I need to do. The tips and comments from Coach Kathy also helped me a lot. I had a hard time creating my video introduction because I am a bit shy. But, after 50 takes (give or take), I did it. And, yes, my Upwork and Onlinejobs.ph profiles are now approved.


I really love the fact that I am learning a lot in the live sessions and video lessons. Tasks that seemed hard are now easier for me. I didn’t even know what Canva was prior to the course. Now, my resume, branding template, and proposal letter look very professional because of what this course taught me. I learned how to optimize my Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter accounts. I now know how to schedule posts in my social media accounts. I had fun creating the organic social media content. And of course, I was able to create my website. Overall, this course taught me to go out of my comfort zone, to explore and discover what I am capable of.


SO, ARE FREELANCING COURSES WORTH IT?

Yes, the courses from FVA Academy are truly worth it. Aside from the live sessions, and video lessons, you can also schedule a 30-minute coaching session with your coach. Coach Kathy is also very supportive and makes sure that I finish my portfolios. As part of their commitment, the coaches will also be there to support us until we get hired. Of course, we have to do our part also.


I am confident that after the course, I am more equipped to perform the tasks involved in being a virtual assistant or whatever niche I choose.



Let me end this blog with the quote below:

“It is only after you’ve stepped out of your comfort zone that you begin to change, grow, and transform.” – Rey T. Bennett








36 views0 comments
bottom of page